I’ve blogged about excuses and why we make them. In fact, I was trying to come up with a good blog topic for today and was thinking “Shoot, I don’t have any good ideas.” I had set a goal of writing a new post every day (this is the third time I’ve set this goal) and today I almost let the “Lack of a Good Idea Fairy” talk me out of it. After all, why write if you don’t have anything to write about? That was a question I asked many times in college, by the way.

This morning, as I was reading a blog in one of my favorite business magazines, my eye caught a glimpse of another post about excuses. Wow, I thought, this must be a popular subject these days.” Excuse-making is a popular subject if not a popular pastime. Heck, every time I read one of these posts I look to see if I’ve been credited with any of the material. I’m sure that I invented my share of them.

When we use statements such as “I’m not good enough”, “I’m too busy”, “It wasn’t meant to be”, “I’m never that lucky” or a myriad of others we’re really just copping out. If you’re not good enough, work on getting better. If you’re too busy, learn to manage your time better. If you don’t know, learn. If you’ve never done it before, do it now. Stop rationalizing. If you’re scared, say so. Do or do not.

Just stop making excuses.